Agents of SHIELD- Coming to ABC this Fall

Agents of Shield:

I’m a huge Marvel fan. And While I do await the premiere of this show, I also have some concerns, mainly that the extent to which Marvel is expanding their universe, that they may overdo some aspects. (For instance, Guardians of the Galaxy. While it’s a known comic series, it will be interesting to see what the responses are from the general viewers. They’ll definitely have things to say after Marvel follows Ironman with a team consisting of a Racoon and a talking Tree. I hope Marvel & Disney know what they are doing, and doing it right.) I understand that they are also rolling out a few other TV Series, most of them on ABC and one on Fox.

Anyways, from the trailer that was posted, it seems as if this guy (sorry I’m horrible w/names) below, will be the initial hero :

As there are only so many African-American heroes in the Marvel Universe, my main guess would be that he plays Luke Cage. He’s powerful due to his brute strength rather than a reliance on any superpowers (at least in some versions in the comic book). And there are two different backgrounds for him, one that shows he had a rough life, being charged for a crime he didn’t commit and spending time in a prison, and the other one is that he’s an ex-cop who is a family man. I know…Marvel’s character bios are really confusing sometimes, there are multiple stories for each character.

What I am going to assume is that: a) new characters from the Marvel Universe will appear every now and then, and b) that the story will flow with the Movies, which I heard it does (in that everything is taking place after what happened in Avengers).

What I hope for the show, however, is that it doesn’t end up like Smallville! I watched that show only because I started it, I sank with the ship. Don’t get me wrong, it had its ups and downs, but mostly downs. It was tantalizing to see all the heroes in the last season, but it was such a buzzkill when nothing much really happen. The show was like 5% action and 95% girl drama. Marvel, hopefully you know your audience. ABC is not CW in that it shows airhead shows like Gossip Girl and…well whatever else they air. I’m not saying that the show needs non-stop action, but it should have action.

That’s all I have to say about the show as of now. Another post will arrive after the first episode airs.

Leave a Reply

